Asian Inspired

Every couple of months or so, I get bit with the travel bug. This week, I’m absolutely itching to have my passport stamped in some exotic destination. However, here I sit in an Americanized version of a French cafe painfully aware that my now expired passport is safely tucked away in a file box somewhere. Sigh. It doesn’t help that I’m reliving my experience in Seoul, Korea at The Sound of Center City blog. There’s got to be a name for feeling homesick for a place that is not your home. Somebody help me out here… anybody.

I can remember the first thing I saw upon arriving in Seoul that turned me into a typical American tourist {shamelessly staring while fishing thru my messenger bag for a camera, a phone, anything that would allow me to capture the moment}. A wedding was being held at the hotel where we stayed and, oh my goodness. I don’t know if they were bridesmaids or just attendees, but they were breath taking… like little China dolls.

Ok.. the image is terrible, but a 15 hour flight combined with a moderate sense of discretion and I was lucky to get the back of their heads.

Here are few more pictures of these traditional Korean dresses {obviously not taken by myself}.

 {image via White Carpet}

This is a more traditional Korean wedding gown. The bright colors, the full skirts….. absolutely stunning!

Here’s a more modern take on the hanbok.

 {image via 1stweddingphotography.com}

{image via Drama Beans}

I would no doubt look a little out of place if I showed up at the next church pot luck wearing one of these babies. But a girl can dream, right?

좋은 하루 되세요 everyone! {Have a good day}

3 Comments

  1. Angel Radford said,

    May 12, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    It’s called Wanderlust!

  2. Min said,

    May 30, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    As a Korean, I’m glad you loved the Korean traditional dress…. however, the first picture of the Korean traditional dress is not “wedding” gown. It can be worn for any occasion. It can be worn underneath the wedding gown, but it’s not the complete wedding look. Check out the below picture for the complete look. =)


Leave a comment