Slumber Party

I went to a slumber party last night. I don’t think I’ve said that since I was twelve. My best friend Christyn and I have known each other since the seventh grade. We have not lived in the same town since high school, and last June, she moved approximately .9 miles from me here in Uptown Charlotte.  She is undoubtedly the loveliest person I’ve ever known, and in true Christyn form, she  invited our friend’s daughter , Mary, over for a girl’s night. Mary’s father, David, who I’ve called “Duke” since we were twelve, is now my pastor and still to this day one of my best friends. He lives .4 miles from me with his wife and four kids. There we were– Christyn and I (age 30), Mary (age 5), my daughter Amelia (age 6 weeks) and my mother (age … Mom, I know you’re reading this, so I wouldn’t dare publish your age on the internet). We drank coffee, painted finger nails, beaded necklaces… the only thing we didn’t do was play M.A.S.H. and prank call cute boys. It occurred to me that Christyn, Duke, and I began our life-long journey together when we were just a few years older than his little girl who was now sharing a bowl of popcorn with me and holding my daughter in her lap like she was one of her baby dolls. All three of our mothers are still close friends, and we are now just a few years younger than they were when our friendship began. So I guess in a way we celebrated three generations of friendship last night. Christyn, if your reading this and you can’t find your bra, you might want to check your freezer.

3 Comments

  1. September 18, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Amazing! Such a beautiful perspective. My baby had such a great time last night. Thanks for making her feel so special!

  2. Dee Nash said,

    September 18, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    I am laughing and crying at the same time. What precious memories I have of you girls giggling and talking long into the night as tween agers…..now lovely young women!! I so enjoy our lives together now. So much has changed; so much has stayed the same. I thank you for inviting me to the slumber party…….even though I am &^%^% years old. My granddaughter, Mia has captured my heart and I really think she has Salina’s sweet disposition. In my heart I still see Christyn and Salina in elementary school just giggling and talking long into the night….thank you girls for being so precious to me. I love you.

  3. Christyn said,

    September 19, 2010 at 12:13 am

    HaHaHa! I still haven’t found my bra… probably because it’s SO small!
    I had so much fun laughing with ya’ll…. “and the rest is history!” I love that we share so many years of family. friendship, and memories.


Leave a Reply

