Chalk Talk

I am beginning to think that if you live in a house with children (or a visionary husband) you need to make good use of chalkboard paint. Granted, chalkboard painted surfaces are cropping up everywhere these days, but there’s a reason for that. Perhaps a few of these examples would prove useful around your house. I know they would in mine.

I am already visualizing my home school room even though Salem just rounded age 2! It never too early to prepare, right? I love these Erasable Labels from Martha Stewart. If Salem had his way, they would all be labeled “drum sticks”.

If you haven’t already visited Jones Design Company blog, pour yourself a cup of hot tea and brace yourself for a dose of inspiration like you’ve never seen before. In a word Emily is brilliant. I recently told her that if one could have a blog “mentor” she would be it for me. This is a wall in her home office. I could see Clark and I scribbling lyrics all over that space. Here are a couple of other examples of fun with chalkboard paint.

Image via image via Milk and Honey Home

This table by Design Sponge got my wheels spinning for this weekend’s Unfinished Projects Party. I just re-inherited a hideous cabinet that I lent to Christyn. It is an eyesore in my foyer, and I can’t stand to leave it there looking like something better suited for the Pit of Despair.

Try Benjamin Moore Studio Finish Chalkboard Paint

…or if you’re in a more colorful mood, check out Hudson Color Chalkboard Paint, and paint ’til your heart’s content!

 

8 Comments

  1. Jade Collins said,

    January 27, 2011 at 2:42 am

    I love it, I designed a play room a few years ago and painted under the chair rail with it. 🙂 Judd and Christy painted their fridge, and we can always leave sweet notes for them.

    • ladylullabuy said,

      January 27, 2011 at 11:32 am

      The fridge!! What a great idea. Don’t know how my landlords would feel about that. Ha!

  2. Sherry said,

    January 27, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Love it! One of these days, my threat to paint my front storm door with chalkboard paint is going to be more than a threat. Think I could convince the UPS man to write me a message instead of leaving the dreaded sticky note?

    • ladylullabuy said,

      January 27, 2011 at 1:46 pm

      Sherry, that’s a great idea! But, unfortunately, I’m not sure if UPS would cooperate.

  3. Lindsay said,

    January 27, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    That looks like tons of fun. While we are on the subject of chalk, the jewelry lady has a few words of wisdom to share:
    Put a piece of white chalk in your jewelry box and your silver jewelry won’t tarnish. The chalk soaks up the moisture and leaves it nice and shiny.
    Great post Salina!

    • ladylullabuy said,

      January 27, 2011 at 3:10 pm

      Wow Lindsay! I never knew that… great to know. And thanks for commenting!

  4. dee said,

    January 29, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    I remember the hours of fun you had drawing on your chalkboard when you were little……(sigh)

  5. April said,

    February 4, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    love the chalkboard paint! we have a chalkboard that used to be an old mirror…it’s awesome for lists, announcements, illustrations….i want to do a hole wall in ian’s room. adding it my to-do list on my chalkboard.


Leave a Reply

