Classy with Cash part 2

When I was a kid, there were few things I looked forward to more than the first day of school. New clothes… new backpack…. new school supplies… I know. I always have been a bit of a nerd. Well, apparently not much has changed. When Clark and I started Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University last week, I got inspired to make my own cash budget envelopes.

I began by rummaging through my scrap book paper stash.

I followed this tutorial to make my own envelopes and voila!

Not only does pretty paper inspire me, but now I can keep my subdivided cash and my checks all in one place!

I had so much fun mixing and matching different paper patterns. After completing my envelopes, I bound them all together with ribbon.

I made sure my holes were big enough for an embroidery needle to fit through and I simply whip stitched the envelopes together.  I would have made my life a whole lot easier if I would have had a Crop-A-Dile  to punch my binder holes.

I was sure to attach an extra piece of card stock to the top of the stack to slip inside the front cover of the check book.

I bought these bridal magazine flag markers at a yard sale for a dime. I simply re-labeled them and used them as embellishments for my cash envelope system.

Now the only thing missing is the cash!!

4 Comments

  1. julie said,

    May 23, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    SOOOO CUTE!

  2. Tabatha said,

    May 23, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Good grief you’re crafty!! I love them 🙂
    My favorite is still the wine cork project, though.

  3. Alycia A. said,

    January 23, 2012 at 8:45 pm

    LOVE this idea of putting it into a check book cover. I had not known what to put the envelopes into, and didn’t want to buy something.
    Thanks!
    Aly

  4. B said,

    August 1, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    I laminated mine with a type of contact paper too…Then I moved on to square unlidded dollar store jars less fumbling :). I have since started with prepaid cards, and am looking for ways to incorporate them in all my cateogories.


Leave a Reply

