Party Poms

I woke up before my alarm with birthday on the brain! Mia’s 1st Birthday Tea Party is this Saturday, and all I could think about this morning was where on Earth I was going to find a teapot cookie cutter. Of all the thoughts to wake up to on a Tuesday…

Apartment Therapy featured these tissue paper pompoms, and I got inspired to create my own over the weekend. I attempted Martha Stewart’s tissue paper pompom tutorial and lets just say that my party poms looked more like the product of a drunken cheerleader than anything even remotely display-worthy. While we’re on the topic, am I the only one that has to read Martha’s photo tutorials two and three times and they still don’t make complete sense? Fortunately, I stumbled on a video tutorial where I inevitably had an “Ah-ha” moment where it all came together and I said out loud, “Oh that’s how you do it.” You’ll have to bear with the 10 minutes of commentary from the film maker who is attempting to juggle both the camera and the tissue paper pompoms, but the end result is quite impressive.

Party poms…. take two. Wish me luck!

 

3 Comments

  1. Jade said,

    August 2, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    I want pictures when you are done, I thought about making these in Spain for the girls room. I loved them when I saw them. Wish we could celebrate with you!!!!

  2. racheljthomas said,

    August 2, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    I had this same disaster a few weeks ago for a friend’s baby shower! Tried Martha’s tutorial and it was a disaster! A friend suggested I use more layers and smaller sizes and they came out fabulous. Good Luck with yours!


Leave a Reply

