Mission Impossible: The Dining Room Chairs

I’ve walked by this bundle of colored circle pattern fabric draped lazily over a bar stool in my craft space for months now. I have every intention of breaking in my new electric staple gun this weekend and recovering my rather depressing dining room chairs. Have you ever reupholstered a piece of furniture? Sounds like a snap, but after reviewing Design Sponge’s Dining Chair Do-Over tutorial I’m beginning to think this requires some real elbow grease. Wish me luck!

In the event that I chicken out, I’m about to raid a reclaimed fabric store that I recently stumbled upon so that at the very least, I can churn out some frayed fabric rosettes this weekend.

I LOVE WEEKENDS!!!!!! Here’s hoping you have a great one!

4 Comments

  1. Cindi said,

    August 19, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    It is hard work, but it’s worth it. 2 very important words: staple remover (or, in the event you don’t have one, you can use a screwdriver). If it doesn’t look just right, take it out and do it over. It’s kind of like a delete button that takes a bit more effort to use. 🙂 Or, wait until September and I’ll help you. Seriously.

    • ladylullabuy said,

      August 19, 2011 at 2:47 pm

      I’ll give the first one a shot and then you better believe I will take you up on your offer. I will throw some tea and sparkling conversation in to the deal.

  2. thejuiceblog said,

    August 19, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Oooh, excited to see how they turn out. I’m DYING to redo mine too, but haven’t gotten up the courage (afraid I’ll have gutted chairs standing around for who knows how long). Good luck! I’m sure they’ll be great!

  3. Sherry said,

    August 19, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Reclaimed fabric store??? We have one of those? I must know more.

    As for reupholstering, Cindi’s right. Staple remover. Also,eat your Wheaties that morning, it can take some muscle to get things where they need to be!


Leave a Reply

