Is It a Dress or a Gown

David Meister{Strapless draped jersey gown by David Meister}

Would you be dears and settle something for us? Last night, Clark invited me to hear him play with Smalltown Poets for a fundraising gala at the Georgia Aquarium next weekend. As I said before, any occasion to get dressed up and eat cake is a no-brainer. No settling needed there. However, upon hearing the word “gala”, I instinctively said, “Yikes, I need a gown!!”… to which he said, “What are you talking about? You just bought a dress yesterday,”… to which I replied (with a roll of the eyes and a look that said, “Silly Man”, and then I slowed my words down to a rate a cocker spaniel could comprehend)… “Sweetheart, that’s a dress. I need a gown.” {Long pause… wait for it… waaaiiit for it}.

{Silly Man rapid fires} “Girls make everything complicated. Guys can wear the same suit no matter what the occasion. What is the difference between a dress and a gown?”

{Queen of Condescension reveals her fashion stupidity} “I don’t know. But I know that I need one.”

Perhaps you can help us out. What exactly is the difference, and does a gala necessitate both a gown and a paperback copy of Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus?

Thanks for your help!

5 Comments

  1. March 13, 2013 at 2:20 pm

    To me, a dress is any one piece skirted piece of clothing. A gown refers to a more formal dress. But yes, a gala needs more of a gown (in my Southern, better to be overdressed than under opinion. Have fun!

  2. tedslater755389321 said,

    March 13, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Hey, we have a family membership to the Georgia Aquarium. Ashleigh and the girls and I love that place! 🙂

  3. Alexis said,

    March 13, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    A dress can be worn everywhere from church to the beach. A gown is formal wear reserved for an evening event (such as a gala), or day time red carpet. Ha! 🙂

    • ladylullabuy said,

      March 13, 2013 at 5:00 pm

      Love it. Day time red carpet. Did you Wikipedia that? Haha

      • Alexis said,

        March 14, 2013 at 1:20 pm

        Hahaha! NO!


Leave a Reply

