Rise and Shine

20130313-203253.jpg

{Images via Gemma Correll}

How early do you wake up? I once read that the most successful people in life wake up at 5am. Do you think that is true? Clark challenged me this week to actually do it. Of course we are gluttons for torture and would pick Daylight Savings week smack in the middle of a coffee-less Lent season
to attempt the insane. For the first two days, I looked like I walked straight out of an Asian Zombie flick. But, I must admit, I get so much done in those two hours before the kids wake up. I’ve enjoyed some much needed tea time {a distant second to my beloved breakfast blend}, and some quiet meditation. The laundry pile is no longer growing hair and fangs, and most exciting of all, I’ve done a bit of dusting off the ole’ website just in time for Spring {more to come on that later}. So even though it is 8:30pm and I can barely keep my eyes open, I think this 5am wake-up has its perks.

What would it take to get you out of bed at 5am?

3 Comments

  1. Carol Peterson said,

    March 14, 2013 at 11:57 am

    I get up at 5 am Monday through Friday—once I’m up, all is well, but I sure hate it when that alarm rings! I love my “quiet time”–I do NOT like a lot of conversation in the morning. In fact, on the occasional mornings that Torsten decides to get up early, I really feel like he’s invading my space. I leave the house at 7. It doesn’t truly take me two hours to get ready for work–I’m not THAT high maintenance. But, it allows me to move slowly, have my prayer time, fix my lunch, and not rush. I am definitely a morning person!

  2. Elizabeth S. said,

    March 15, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    I too started getting up an hour before everyone in my household about 4 years ago. It changes everything. I start my day with meditation and prayer, coffee and the 1st(of many) load of laundry. By the time I wake up my children, I am able to fully focus on them because my mind and laundry hamper have been cleared.

    • ladylullabuy said,

      March 15, 2013 at 12:34 pm

      That’s exactly how I feel. Focused as clear-headed (as close to it as possible anyway.) Thanks for commenting.


Leave a Reply

