It Takes a Village…

88027PCN_Daughters05

Do you have a nanny? Under What circumstances would you hire one part-time, full-time, or invite one to live with you? I was a nanny in my early twenties for three small children. In the wealthier parts of town, it seems that nannies are about as common as having a family pet. When I was a nanny, I couldn’t’ understand how or why a mother would want to go out to work while someone else, like me, got to witness all of her child’s firsts… first steps, first phrases, first epic tantrum. But now that I am a mother of small children, I am a little more sympathetic of women who perhaps simply need the extra help as part of their 20 year survival plan. What do you think? Are nannies a vital necessity or a superfluous luxury?

Photo via PacificCoastNews.com

2 Comments

  1. Whitney said,

    March 19, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Salina,

    First off, I think that Nannies are not exactly a necessity, but they are a very useful source of childcare if you can afford them. I have been a nanny for six years and have never worked for someone where I felt like I was just a superflous luxury. I help out wherever I can and I know the parents appreciate every bit.

    If you are interested in exploring the topic more, I am launching a magazine for nannies and we would love to get your insight. If you are interested in writing for us at all or checking out our submissions site, please email me at whitney@nannymagcom or go to nannymagsubmissions.wordpress.com.

    Have a wonderful day and thank you for your insightful thoughts!

    • ladylullabuy said,

      March 19, 2013 at 6:21 pm

      Thanks for commenting, Whitney. Wow! A magazine venture. Rock on. I can’t wait to see your work. Thanks for commenting.


Leave a Reply

