Tiptoe Topic

20130331-213652.jpg

How was your Easter? Ours was lively. The kids woke up at 6:30am and came barreling down the stairs asking for presents. I think kids have built-in gift radar. They tore into their Easter baskets before the sun came up. Before we got to church, they were already dozing off in the backseat from all of the early morning excitement. Needless to say it was a see-saw of delirium and melt-down for the rest of the day until they finally crashed in their beds last night.

As for my Paleo plans… at the last minute request of my Southern Sweetheart, I prepared the meal just the way he likes it– fried, creamed, and buttered. On special occasions like this, I make it a point not to deprive myself, but instead to limit myself. Fortunately, I recently stumbled on this portion control chart.

portion control chart

And i enjoyed every greasy bite.

It has taken a while to find that delicate balance of moderation when it comes to food, but I have come to believe good health is something to be enjoyed rather than to be enslaved to. Like most women, I have had a love/hate relationship with my body. I have overhauled my diet time and time again– adding this… eliminating that. It is exhausting, isn’t it?

I thought that perhaps our conversation this month might center around the idea of healthy living. Warning: I’m about to get up close and personal here. For starters, I will be sharing my weight loss story– something I don’t enjoy talking about with close friends much less making public domain. But I get asked about it a lot, so I thought I’d put all those extra pounds to good use to hopefully inspire some who might be on a weight loss journey themselves. You could make this easier on me by answering one question:

How much weight did you gain during pregnancy?

Before you unsubscribe to this blog out of sheer disgust that I would ask such a vulnerable question, know that whatever you say, I would be willing to bet the last piece of fried chicken that I had your weight gain trumped. As you will see, my two pregnancies re-defined the phrase of “invasion of the Body Snatchers”.

Let’s learn from one another on this rather sensitive topic, shall we?

8 Comments

  1. abbie said,

    April 1, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    35, i think. thrilled to hear glimpses of your wisdom and journey here.

  2. Christie said,

    April 1, 2013 at 5:29 pm

    within 2 pounds of 45 for each of 4 pregnancies….yikes! but got some kids from it 🙂

  3. Christie said,

    April 1, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    some cute kids I meant to say!

  4. Ashleigh said,

    April 2, 2013 at 12:21 am

    I gained 40 to 50 lbs with each of my four full-term pregnancies. I’m still trying to lose the weight from my last one.

  5. Rebecca said,

    April 2, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    Think I have blocked it from my memory. 35-40 I think. 😦

  6. bekah said,

    April 2, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    I gained about 40 with all 3 babies… even though they were 6, 7, & 8 pounders… its funny. Its just in your genetics I believe what you will gain with having babies. You are SO BEAUTIFUL Salina, no matter what that scale says. This blog is the most honest, encouraging, beautiful window into your heart and no matter what your story has been, you are awesome!!! I just want you to know thats what I see….! 🙂 Love you, friend!

    • ladylullabuy said,

      April 2, 2013 at 2:36 pm

      Oh Bekah, thanks for that sweet encouragement. If I didn’t have you all, I’m afraid I would be over here talking to myself. Ha!

  7. bekah said,

    April 2, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    OOOOHHHH…. and LOVE the Easter family picture!!!


Leave a Reply

