Why Not Wine Corks?

I collect wine corks. I don’t know why. It just seems a pity to throw them away. Wine is meant to be enjoyed with friends over a nice meal, at a wedding, or after a long day with children. On days when my sense of humor is limping along, I can look at my bowls and vases filled with wine corks and it proves to me somehow that I really am fun. Really. I am. While I was home for the holiday I snagged a bag full of wine corks from my mother’s house. Then, while we were on our fabulous Romantic Holiday Getaway, Shirley at the front desk caught me eyeing a giant bag of corks in the kitchen and she offered for me to take them home. So, if one didn’t know me any better, I looked like I drank myself silly this Christmas judging from all the wine corks I hauled home from Florida. Before Hoarders decides to do a piece on me, I think I ought to put my wine corks to good use.

One can always count on Martha Stewart to make good use out of stray wine corks. I just love this wine cork board! Click here to learn how she does it.

The possibilities for wine cork boards are seemingly endless!

Images via 4 Eyes and Ears Etsy shop

Image via Wine Enthusiast

If wine cork boards are not your taste, here are some other creative ideas to try.

Design Sponge features these DIY wine cork coasters and trivet.

How clever. Learn how to make this wine cork bath mat by Crafty Nest.

These napkin rings would be quite the conversation piece at my next dinner party. Check out newenglandfineliving.com for more wine cork craft projects.

I’m off to work on my rosettes, but I plan to have a wine cork project completed by the weekend. I’ll keep you posted!

 

7 Comments

  1. Stephanie said,

    January 13, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    What brilliant ways to use wine corks! I might have to start saving our wine corks now.

  2. theblossoms said,

    January 13, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    This is just what I was looking for. Sam and I collect them, too! We used to put the date on them for special occasions but they have multiplied like rabbits so that doesn’t happen anymore. Now, it’s a sport to see who can land the cork in the glass vase the are overflowing from on top of the cabinets. I was just thinking what would I do with them with the move to the UK. Think I can squeeze in one of these projects in 10 days??

  3. April said,

    January 13, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    A great excuse for me to start drinking again!

  4. Tabatha said,

    January 13, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Possibly THE coolest ideas ever.
    Now I need to start saving my corks from Old South wines again.

  5. Jade Collins said,

    January 13, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    I love it. When we lived in Spain I had hundreds… I collected them from every where we went. I always thought people are going to think I’m an alcoholic, especially the Americans that visit:) I left them all there when we moved… looking forward to starting my collection again soon. Great ideas for lonely days ahead.

  6. katie said,

    January 13, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    such fun ideas! So creative! I would never think of that!!!

  7. Serg said,

    January 29, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    I collect wine corks too. My site: http://www.mtcork.nm.ru. If anybody has interest to exchange corks or information – please contact me: belzizz@yandex.ru or mtcork@nm.ru.


Leave a comment